Ant-Man
Hank Pym

Leadership
Ally

Avenger.

Cost: 0.
Health: 0.
Attack: 2. Thwart: 2.
Resource:

Ant-Man gets +1 hit point for each pym counter on him.

Interrupt: When Ant-Man enters play, place 1 pym counter on him (to a maximum of 4) for each resource you overpaid for Ant-Man's cost.

Ant-Man #11.
Ant-Man
Reviews

Hank Pym compares favorably to most 2-cost allies, and he's about equal to most "just stats" 3-cost allies. He also has the flexibility to have cost 1 ("world's cheapest block!", and great for early turns in your Band Together deck) or cost 4 if you have spare resources to burn. He's even technically got a 0-cost option (thanks, Team Training).

A great ally who can find a home in any Leadership deck. Just don't try to reduce his cost ("a card cannot have 'negative'...cost", in the rules under Modifiers) or put him into play without paying his cost.

Fry · 239

He gains tons of usefulness with Team Training in play, as you can play him for 0 and still get 2 ATK/THW (or 3 if you're running Mighty Avengers) or a single chump block, while keeping Avengers Tower free to get its benefits for a 1-cost ally (like Blade or Stinger) to make it another an 0 cost.

You can also just pay 4 for him and keep him upgraded and healthy. The flexibility is certainly a big part of his appeal.

Alatreon · 95
Will discounts like Avengers Tower and/or Helicarrier count towards me overpaying? I.e. I’ve made his cost -2 so if I pay 0 I get 2 counters? — GladiusMortis · 1
Oh ignore that, just realised the previous comment answers it. Sorry, can’t delete my question :/ — GladiusMortis · 1

Its never bad to have Ant-Man. He is at worst a very cheap chump, more likely a 2 cost ally with above average stats, and can serve as a resource dump to create an even more valuable ally depending on your priorities and what's in your hand.

Ant-Man is just a flexible guy to have around, and this card reflects that. Almost a must-include in Avengers leadership decks, and has a home in just about every non-tribal leadership deck as well.

You can “overpay” for Hank Pym if using Make the Call, because when paying for a cost you can always generate additional resources, and Hank Pym specifically enables you to “use” those overpaid resources to give him HP

source: hallofheroeslcg.com #83

mougy · 81